Home > life, philosophy > More on government

More on government

I found this excellent video (sorry for the link, they don’t have embedding) on a friends profile on Facebook. It walks us through the various forms of government, is peppered with pithy lines from great thinkers and in my opinion ought to be made compulsory viewing for school children.Growing up, I regarded “Civics” as a mighty boring subject that one must study by rote, to pass exams. That it is one of the bases of my way of life was beyond my comprehension at the time.

PS: Blogging has been slow since Facebook is where I spend most of my cybertime these days. With friends sharing links from all over the internet, methinks it is a great way to exercise some mental muscle.

PPS: Kid brother observed that most of my blog posts are peppered with ‘!’, so I decided to go on a crash diet. Voila, this post has none.

Categories: life, philosophy Tags: , ,
  1. March 9, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I haven’t checked out the link yet, but I like this post. Nice post!

  2. March 9, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Thanks unawoken. The climb towards concise and precise (and just enough) prose continues 🙂

  3. Nikhil Thatte
    March 10, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Umm I’m not sure I agree with them. Let’s see, according to them a Republic is Rule of Law; that Law being pre-determined and not ‘Subject to majority whims’. How was this Law determined? Is it not that the majority’s wishes ultimately reflect in the Law (in a Democratic Republic) and upholding of this Law is nothing more than a Rule of the majority? They claim that USA is not a democracy but a pure Republic. The fact that legislators (who decide the Law) are elected by majority and the fact that the Constitution is subject to Amendments by majority in the House of Represenatatives of the People (Is it the Congress or the Senate?) implies that USA is a Democratic Republic.
    And in an Oligarchy too, the Law is upheld – the difference of course being that the Law is decided by the elite few in power and changes according to their (rather than the majority’s) whims.
    So, in essence, a Republic is non-existent – it is either a Democratic Republic or an Oligarchic Republic.

  4. March 12, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Nikhil, that is an interesting question. I will dig around a little more to try and understand the distinction they are trying to make. I have some opinions about law in general which I will elaborate in the next post.

  5. Nikhil Thatte
    March 13, 2009 at 4:17 am

    I think the question of whether any law can be called Natural Law is one that merits debate, what?

  6. March 13, 2009 at 10:19 am

    We had that debate on the way to Ganpatipule didn’t we!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

