Home > music, poetry > Two Ustads

Two Ustads

Rumi. Persian poet, philosopher.


I used to be shy.
You made me sing.

I used to refuse things at table.
Now I shout for more wine.

In somber dignity, I used to sit
on my mat and pray.

Now children run through
and make faces at me.
              ~~
You've so distracted me,
your absence fans my love.
Don't ask how.

Then you come near,
"Do not....," I say, and
"Do not....," you answer.

Don't ask why
this delights me.
         ~~

Ustad Amir Khan, doyen of the Indore Gharana. He was well versed in Persian and Sanskrit. I envy his riches.

  1. July 2, 2009 at 3:19 am

    I felt as if I understood the poetry.

    Am I correct in interpreting that this was written by Ustad Amir Khan dedicating it to Rumi?

    Poem is very delicate, and gives the feeling of celebrating one’s state of mind what the outside world would call silliness. Great!

    TC.

  2. July 2, 2009 at 10:03 am

    The poem was written by Rumi. The song was sung by Ustad Amir Khan. No relation between the two.

    According to me, the first poem is about how love makes you silly. The second is about the contradiction of “can’t live without you, can’t live with you”.

    I think both these Ustads found love in their lives. Lucky them!

  3. July 2, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    How embarrassing! I couldn’t even make out that there were two different pieces, though I’d been able to make out that two ideas were being conveyed.

    My interpretation of first poem is congruent with yours. That of second poem is also congruent with yours! Though, I’d have interpreted ‘”Do not…” you answer’ to mean: ‘do not try to resist’, which anyway means the same as what you said.

    Either they found true love, or that their memory could capture that moment and make it theirs forever!

    Really nice taste in poetry, you have.

    TC.

    • July 2, 2009 at 1:08 pm

      No, no. It is bad writing/composing on my part. I think I implied some connection when there was none!

      Thanks for visiting though! Its great to have readers who give feedback 🙂

  4. July 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Nice poems Mohit, I must read Rumi.

    “I think I implied some connection when there was none!”

    I think you can link them through the theme of “control issues”

    • July 2, 2009 at 4:41 pm

      Pray elaborate unawoken.

  5. July 3, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Beautiful. I envy their riches, too. To be able to say so much so simply. I love love love the second poem. I agree with unawoken, I must read Rumi, too.

    To be able to sing so beautifully, to make the listener’s heart overflow. 🙂

    Wow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

