Home > light, rastafari > Expensive Shit

Expensive Shit

Stumbled across this on Wikipedia:

Expensive Shit is the twelfth full-length album by Afrobeat pioneer Fela Kuti. It was ranked #78 on Pitchfork Media‘s “Top 100 Albums of the 1970s”. The title of the album refers to an incident in which the Nigerian police tried to arrest Kuti by planting a joint on him. Kuti managed to eat the joint which prompted the police to bring him into custody and try to wait for him to produce the excrement. According to legend he managed to use another inmate’s feces and was eventually released.

Randomness abounds!

Categories: light, rastafari Tags: ,
  1. August 7, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    LOL, Interesting!

  2. Mansi
    August 13, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    “The more you accept herb, the more you accept Rastafari”

    I just wikied Rastafari, and it’s a whole load of crap (as expected). But I like some of what he says…”herb is just a plant”! Nice…I should Marley me up a little.

    Excuse me while I light my spliff.

    • August 13, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      Haha, I agree the entire Rasta movement is pretty wacky!

  3. Mansi
    August 13, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Having cannabis as an essential part of your religion is a little too convenient me thinks.
    What are you going to go to hell for then?

    • August 13, 2009 at 9:50 pm

      Lol, I don’t think any religion forbids you from smoking cannabis! It’s only dumb laws that came into effect in the 50’s!

      • Mansi
        August 13, 2009 at 10:54 pm

        Aye, but it is frowned upon by society today(and I’m sure by religious heads too, by osmosis). Including it in the religion makes it very acceptable.

        Hmm…when I create my own “religion” I shall be verryy liberal 😛

  4. August 13, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    LOL @mansi’s comments

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

