Home > me, philosophy > Just another conversation?

Just another conversation?

September 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Me: Who am I?
Me: Who wants to know?
Me: I do.
Me: Who am I?
Me: Ok, this cycle is fake. I think, therefore I am, so the existence of I is not in question, the nature and description of I is in question.
Me: Ok, what is the nature and description of I?
Me: Umm, how do I tell you?
Me: With words of course, how else?
Me: Words? What do words mean to you?
Me: Words mean what they are meant to mean.
Me: Who told you what they are meant to mean?
Me: Life did. Experiences and all that. Plus, I agreed to agree with the meaning of words so I could talk to other folks, you know!
Me: I see. So the best description of yourself that you can come up with, is one based on “ideas based on your experiences (in other words, words)”?
Me: It appears so.
Me: In that case, you are what you do.
Me: I’d rather say I am what I think I am.
Me: But you can only think within the framework of ideas that were based on your actions with respect to your universe, can’t you?
Me: I suppose so. I can’t imagine the unimaginable. I am a sentient being, given ways to interact with and interpret the universe and that is all that I am.
Me: Hmm, so aren’t you just a glorified animal?
Me: Yes, a questioning animal, I certainly am. Is this question tending to mu.
Me: Why mu? Don’t you think “unasking” this question is escapist?
Me: No. I am not running away from the question, just attempting to understand it better. Perhaps I will re-ask it later and better and close the door on mu.
Me: Ok, understand it better, then.
Me: I will procrastinate. Right now, the animal is hungry and must be fed.
Me: Dang it, you’re right! Just feed the animal. Feeding us is going to take forever anyway and our hunger will probably never be quenched.

Categories: me, philosophy Tags: , ,
  1. September 28, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    hmm interesting. lemme reread it and comment again. meanwhile:
    “Me: I’d rather say I am what I think I am.”

    — ‘you’re not what you think you are, but what you think, you are”

    • September 28, 2009 at 11:38 pm

      Hmm. Lately I’ve been tending towards stream of consciousness posts.

      β€˜you’re not what you think you are, but what you think, you are’
      I want you to explain this to me.

      • September 29, 2009 at 10:50 am

        “I want you to explain this to me”

        — We are what we do and what we think. Thinking involves in OOP terms Agent.think(arguments). Now one of the arguments could be Agent(or “this”) as well. The process of this computation involved in this method is who/what we are (regardless of what the arguments are, including when it is Agent/”this”), not the return value when the function pointer think == “What is the nature of”

        To make it clearer:

        Agent.What_Is_The_Nature_Of(Agent) is actually (part of) what Agent is. The return value is what Agent thinks Agent is (which is not going to equal the process executed in the method).

        • September 29, 2009 at 5:41 pm

          So (my interpretation), the Agent class including state and behavior is what Agent is. Agent is not just the return value of the method WhatIsTheNatureOf(Agent), with Agent=this.

          Is that right?

  2. Nikhil Thatte
    September 29, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Nice! If you haven’t STILL read Tao of Physics, read it right away!

    • September 29, 2009 at 5:41 pm

      Sir, yes sir. *salutes*

  3. Nikhil Thatte
    September 29, 2009 at 7:28 am

    “Books serve to show us that all those original ideas of ours aren’t so original after all!” – Mark Twain
    I’ve felt this way so many times lately! If you read Tao of Physics, you’ll feel the same I’m sure

    • September 29, 2009 at 5:46 pm

      πŸ˜€ Nice quote! Although, I never presumed that my ideas were original.

  4. September 29, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Wow, this was interesting, but I’ll really need to think about a comment before writing it, so I’ll be back tomorrow..

    and I shud say, you do stream-of-consciousness better than most..

    atleast you make it look like a conversation..:D

    • September 29, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      πŸ˜€ waiting for the “comment”!

  5. September 29, 2009 at 7:40 am

    And I agree with Thatte about Tao of Physics..its stuff to really think about..

    • September 29, 2009 at 5:47 pm

      I agree with Thatte too and will obey.

  6. September 29, 2009 at 7:40 am

    umm Nikhil I mean..:D

    • September 29, 2009 at 5:48 pm

      Understood. Thanks for clarifying, else I would have wondered forever πŸ˜›

  7. Suyash
    September 29, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Very interesting post! Agree with tangled_up_in_blue about you making it a good conversation. But stream of consciousness posts are often like an unfinished story. πŸ˜›

    • September 29, 2009 at 5:48 pm

      I think I finished this one with a moral. I was actually hungry at the point in time when I wrote it and I was actually having the conversation, and I chose to go eat. What does that tell you about me πŸ˜€

  8. wordsfromyonder
    September 29, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    “Who am I?”
    I believe I am nothing, but just this ego. Without this ego, I wouldnt
    exist as a being, but just an infinitesimal drop in this universe.
    The soul/spirit/consciousness is the truth and “I” is composed of it and hence
    is a part of this universe, but its the glorified “nature” that dresses
    up the soul and makes it visible to the outside world. Without this nature
    and its inherited ego, I is non-existent (to the naked eye), although the
    soul lives forever.

    “Feeding us is going to take forever anyway and our hunger will probably never be quenched.”
    I believe that depends on us when to feel satisfied(quenched). The act of feeding is not in our control but when to stop the act, is. Likewise, the incidents,acts that take place in our life with we playing our parts as actors is sometimes not in our control, but how we play it is definitely IS. There is no right or wrong
    involved in the action, just the satisfaction that can be met with the path taken.

    • September 29, 2009 at 9:22 pm

      I can see “you”, I can touch “you”, I can talk to “you” and I am interested in knowing who this “you” is.

      You are a human and you are here on this planet and you have free will. Those things are not in doubt are they? Given that, what choices do you make? How do you choose to exert that free will? Those are the questions I am seeking answers for.

      The existence/non-existence of a permanent, intangible soul is orthogonal to the question at hand, don’t you think?

      • Nikhil Thatte
        September 30, 2009 at 7:06 am

        Haha you say that we have free will pretty matter-of-fact-ly. It is far from that – it is a matter of opinion I think (lol!)
        So “You are a human and you are here on this planet and you have free will” are things in doubt and merit discussion before we can think about how one ‘chooses’, if at all, to exert that free will.
        In fact, human free will apart, Einstein’s theory asks more fundamentally if time has an arrow from past to future, thereby putting all of causality into the realm of ‘opinion’!

        • September 30, 2009 at 6:08 pm

          That is a question of semantics. When I say “free will”, I mean, I can choose to poke you in the eye or not. And so, do I choose to poke you in the eye says something about who I am.

  9. September 29, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    “Is that right?”

    — yes. It also shows to a subtle indeterminacy of self-knowledge. If theoretically you just have got to know thyself completely, then you have you also just realise that you do not know the entity that is the result of that entity’s knowing itself, and so on recursively…

  10. Stylo
    October 1, 2009 at 5:07 am

    Ours is not to question why. Ours is to travel, explore this abyss interspersed with the collective magic of other people and their starnge little worlds. Always curious, always hungry, always alive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

