Home > life, me > We, the living.

We, the living.

Leo Igwe over at Culture Kitchen has an interesting post about the human condition and why we are the way we are, in an African context. An excerpt:

The Nigerian author, Ben Okri in his book, A Way of Being Free, said, “There are many ways to die, and not all of them have to do with extinction. A lot of them have to do with living. Living many lies . Living without asking questions. Living in the cave of your own prejudices. Living the life imposed on you, the dreams and codes of your ancestors”

Life boils down to choices. Whether informed or uninformed, with foresight or hindsight, the choices you make determine what kind of life you lead. It is important however that you make the choices and not let the choices make you! This is slightly paradoxical but what I am getting at is a desire for lifelong agility of mind. The ability to absorb new ideas, new perspectives and change when I encounter something “better”. This is the only way to be free, truly free. Like the axolotl which remains in its larval stage forever, I want my brain to be 18 till I die!

Axolotl

This is probably an adult, or maybe not ๐Ÿ™‚

Categories: life, me
  1. January 18, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Nice quote

  2. Thumbelina
    January 19, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Alas, just as joints’ll go creaky and skin will wrinkle, brain cells will die.

    • January 26, 2010 at 1:30 am

      Yes, them cells will die, I’ll get more rigid with age, but I’ll resist ๐Ÿ™‚
      Just as I go to gym to keep the joints moving, I’ll find ways to keep the brain nimble!

  3. January 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    “The ability to absorb new ideas, new perspectives and change when I encounter something โ€œbetterโ€. ” …
    is definitely a challenge in the bigger picture, as life easily draws your attention to routine and roots. Seems like running away from normality shouldnt be the goal, but changing the view of things should be. To be able to view life from your perspective, then maybe it influenced by new ideas or new found perspectives, rather from others’ eyes, is a challenge worth taking up. I wish the influences and new found perspectives arent ephemeral!

    The last line reminded me of Bryan Adam –
    I wanna be young the rest of my life
    never say no – try anything twice
    til the angels come and ask me to fly
    I’m gonna be 18 til I die – 18 til I die

    can’t live forever that’s wishful thinkin’
    who ever said that must of bin’ drinkin’
    don’t wanna grow up I don’t see why
    I couldn’t care less if time flies by

    18 til I die – gonna be 18 til I die
    it sure feels good to be alive
    someday I’ll be 18 goin’ on 55! – 18 til I die

    anyway – I just wanna say
    why bother with what happened yesterday
    it’s not my style I live for the minute
    if ya wanna stay young get both feet in it – 18 til I die

    a ‘lil bit of this – a ‘lil bit of that
    ‘lil bit of everything – gotta get on track
    it’s not how ya look, it’s what ya feel inside
    I don’t care when – I don’t need ta know why
    ya there’s one thing for sure – I’m sure gonna try

    don’t worry ’bout the future – forget about the past
    gonna have a ball – ya we’re gonna have a blast
    gonna make it last – 18 til I die

    • January 26, 2010 at 1:32 am

      “as life easily draws your attention to routine and roots.” – Yes that is a good point. Routine and roots is well put.

      “I wish the influences and new found perspectives arent ephemeral!” – I hope so too. Whether they are ephemeral or not depends on how much I choose to absorb truly and how much is in the moment.

      Thanks for the comment Nishi ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

